Posted in Cover Reveal

COVE REVEAL: Hard To Hold On To – Laura Kaye

Laura Kaye is thrilled to share with you the cover to her next Hard Ink book, Hard to Hold On To which releases on August 19, 2014! Check it out:

HardToHoldOnTo hires

 

Edward “Easy” Cantrell knows better than most the pain of not being able to save those he loves–which is why he is not going to let Jenna Dean out of his sight.  He may have just met her, but Jenna’s the first person to make him feel alive since that devastating day in the desert more than a year ago.

Jenna has never met anyone like Easy. She can’t describe how he makes her feel–and not just because he saved her life. No, the stirrings inside her reach far beyond gratitude.

As the pair are thrust together while chaos reigns around them, they both know one thing: the things in life most worth having are the hardest to hold on to.

 Pre-Order at Amazon | Amazon.ca | Amazon UK | B&N | iTunes

Hard to Hold On To on Goodreads

And don’t miss the other Hard Ink books, now available:

Hard As It Gets

Hard As You Can

A Note from Laura:

Hey guys! I am so excited about Easy’s book that I can hardly wait for August to get here! Easy’s character was a total surprise to me. When I initially plotted out the series, there were four surviving members of the Army Special Forces team and therefore I planned for and sold four book in the series. But then, when I sat down to write Hard As It Gets, all of a sudden the story demanded there were actually five guys, and Edward “Easy” Cantrell was born. And I’m so glad! Because Easy’s character is a totally tortured hero, which I adore writing! So I’m super happy that we added his story and this novella into the series, and I can’t wait for you to learn about Easy in Hard to Hold On To!

Is it August yet???

xo, Laura

Praise for the Hard Ink Series:

For Hard As You Can:

“TOP PICK! There is a sinister and desperate edge to this tale that will keep readers glued to their seats. Kaye has dark romantic suspense nailed!” ~ RT Book Reviews Magazine

“Hard As You Can is another five star read. The characters Ms. Kaye has created are wonderfully broken and the drama is gritty, but the burgeoning romance and the tight-knitted relationship of the team leaves you with a sense of redemption. A must read series!” ~San Francisco Book Review

For Hard As It Gets:

“Edgy, sexy and full of suspense!  A great read from a great new author!” ~ #1 NYT Bestselling Author J.R. Ward

“Sizzling romance… The intriguing tattoo parlor and military background will appeal to fans of Suzanne Brockmann and Lindsay McKenna.” ~Publishers Weekly Review

“Kaye’s depiction of sexual tension and her sex scenes are masterful and this will appeal to fans of Maya Banks’ KGI and Julia Ann Walker’s Black Knight’s series.” ~Booklist

Laura-Kaye-croppedAbout Laura Kaye:

Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over a dozen books in contemporary and paranormal romance. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. She lives in Maryland with her husband, two daughters, and cute-but-bad dog, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

 

Posted in Cover Reveal

COVER REVEAL: Hard As You Can – Laura Kaye

TITLE: Hard As You Can
AUTHOR: Laura Kaye
RELEASE DATE: Feb 25th 2014

add-to-goodreads-button3

Synopsis

Ever since hard-bodied, drop-dead-charming Shane McCallan strolled into the dance club where Crystal Dean works, he’s shown a knack for getting beneath her defenses. For her little sister’s sake, Crystal can’t get too close. Until her job and Shane’s mission intersect, and he reveals talents that go deeper than she could have guessed.

Shane would never turn his back on a friend in need, especially a former Special Forces teammate running a dangerous, off-the-books operation. Nor can he walk away from Crystal. The gorgeous waitress is hiding secrets she doesn’t want him to uncover. Too bad. He’s exactly the man she needs to protect her sister, her life, and her heart. All he has to do is convince her that when something feels this good, you hold on as hard as you can-and never let go.

http://www.laurakayeauthor.com/

Posted in Erotica, Romance

Hearts in Darkness – Laura Kaye

Synopsis

Makenna James thinks her day can’t get any worse, until she finds herself stuck in a pitch-black elevator with a complete stranger. Distracted by a phone call and juggling too much stuff, the pin-striped accountant caught only a glimpse of a dragon tattoo on his hand before the lights went out.

Caden Grayson is amused when a redhead literally falls at his feet. His amusement turns to panic when the power fails. Despite his piercings, tats, and vicious scar, he’s terrified of the dark and confined spaces. Now, he’s trapped in his own worst nightmare.

To fight fear, they must both reach out and open up. With no preconceived notions based on looks to hold them back, they discover just how much they have in common. In the warming darkness, attraction grows and sparks fly, but will they feel the same when the lights come back on?

————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

My Review

Before I start this review, I’ve just realized the last three books I have read have involved guys who are heavily tattooed and have piercing someplace or another. I have a major problem.

Anyway back to the review.

Hearts in Darkness is about two strangers, Makenna/MJ and Caden who become trapped in an elevator, or lift, if you’re British for a number of hours, encased in the tiny metal box in complete darkness.

It starts when MaKenna, or Red to Caden as he had no idea who she is, literally falls at his feet into the elevator. His amusement at the situation suddenly takes a turn for the worst when the lift jolts and stops and they are thrown into darkness. For a heavily tattooed and pierced guy, hes trapped in his worst nightmare, the dark and confined spaces from the secrets of his past.

Makenna seems fine with this situation, doubling over in laughter as her day has just gotten worse for her. Trapped with a stranger, the only thing she saw of him before everything happened with the Dragon tattoo on his hand.

Throughout their ordeal, they begin to talk, first with the game 20 questions and it suddenly flies into their past, with Caden sharing his scars especially now as MJ has helped him through his fear of confined spaces and the darkness by just being there with him.

The pitch black darkness hides their imperfections and insecurities and allows them to be themselves, without the other person knowing what they look like and being rejected. They can express themselves emotionally to one another. This only fuels their chemistry and you can literally feel the sexual tension steaming from the book.

But once out of the elevator, will their chemistry and soul baring closeness remain when the lights are back on?

The author did a great job in writing both characters, especially the POV from Caden and MJ as you got a feel of what they were both thinking throughout the darkness and about each other, which carried on once they were free. She also backtracked a conversation or action so we could see what the other person was thinking while it has happening.

You got to see that Caden wasn’t your ‘tough’ guy, as you would expect from his appearance, he was actually complete sweet and shy and at times he was vulnerable, especially when he had an panic attack in the lift and when he kept asking MJ how far he could go or if it was okay to do this or that. He was such a sweet character to read, and it was a major great turn of events that he never lets anyone in, but around MJ, she had this aura to her that he just needed and wanted to be around her all the time.

MJ was a great read as well. She has an amazing sense of humour, which helps Caden out in the worst of it all. From having the worst day of her life, with the elevator topping it off, she’s attracted to Caden, despite not seeing his face until they get out of the lift. She’s intrigued by his tattoos and she absolutely loves his piercings, which turns Caden on as he was afraid they would turn her off. It was so nice to read that MJ was the one helping Caden through everything, as normally it’s the damsel in distress being rescued, but it showed her soft side and her caring side which was lovely to read.

Now this book doesn’t come without a lot of sexual chemistry and tension in the lift and of course you get drawn into it too. Although they don’t have sex in the lift, stuff does happen and you’ll have to wait and see what happens after they are released from the lift, but hello, tell me where to get one of these men!

Such a different book than I read, but it was great to read something where the characters can’t see each other but they are definitely attracted to one another literally based on being stuck together, their answers and the little touches they give that really heats up the situation.